Vuelvo deslumbrado, sbalordito, ébloui y enlluernat. Dicen que Roma wasn’t built in a day a lo que el castellano de gesta cidiana nombra diciendo que no se tomó Zamora en una hora (frase que, además, me viene que ni pintada para que no se me desparrame del todo la coherencia temática de este blog algo subversivo). En cualquier caso, es cierto: a mí me llevó algo más de un día construirme una Roma muy particular y muy acogedora. Me llevó, concretamente, veintinueve días.

Como no encuentro las palabras, seré conciso y directo: gràcies, grazie (a F.), grazzi acannoladas (a E.) merci.

“Rome wasn’t built in a day”, Fragments of freedom, Morcheeba, 1999.

You and me were meant to be
Walking free in harmony.
One fine day we’ll fly away.
Don’t you know that Rome wasn’t built in a day?

In this day and age it’s so easy to stress
‘Cause people are strange and you can never second guess.
In order to love , child, we got to be strong.
I’m caught in the crossfire; why can’t we get along?

‘Cause you and me were meant to be
Walking free in harmony.
One fine day we’ll fly away.
Don t you know that Rome wasn’t built in a day?

I’m having a daydream, were getting somewhere.
I’m kissing your lips and running fingers through your hair.
I’m as nervous as you ‘bout making it right
Though we know we were wrong, we can’t give up the fight,
Oh no!

‘Cause you and me were meant to be
Walking free in harmony.
One fine day we’ll run away.
Don’ t you know that Rome wasn’t built in a day?

You and me were meant to be
Walking free in harmony.
One fine day we’ll fly away
Don t you know that Rome wasn’t built in a day?

You and me were meant to be
Walking free in harmony .
One fine day we’ll run away (we gonna run away, we gonna run away).
Don’t you know that Rome wasn’t built in a day?

You and me were meant to be
Walking free in harmony .
One fine day we’ll fly away (we gonna run away, we gonna run away).
Don t you know that Rome wasn’t built in a day?